High Tech Linguistic Analysis

Your Linguistic Profile:
50% General American English
25% Yankee
10% Dixie
10% Upper Midwestern
0% Midwestern

$10 to anyone that can explain to me where I picked up the Dixie! 4 trips down South in my life, and somehow I picked up the speech. And I’ve never even been in the Upper Midwest. . . I guess I’m just an enigma. Er something like that.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Words. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to High Tech Linguistic Analysis

  1. John Taber says:

    I spent birthdays 3-9 in Tennessee (and 26-29 in North Carolina) and I wound up with:

    My Linguistic Profile:
    75% General American English
    20% Yankee
    5% Upper Midwestern
    0% Dixie
    0% Midwestern

    I think the “General American” comes from so much time in cities.

    Except for some time at Ricks and Utah State, my wife never lived outside central Washington before following me to Delaware. I don’t think there’s a vowel we pronounce the same way (still – though our vocabularies are rubbing off on each other) and she got:

    55% General American English
    15% Upper Midwestern
    15% Yankee
    10% Midwestern
    5% Dixie

    Must be television or something.

  2. redhatmandan says:

    I’m as general American as you can get! I worked in Alaska one summer as a tour bus driver and one of the passengers asked me, as she was getting off, what part of Canada was I from. Astounded, I told her I’d never been to Canada; why did she ask? Apparently my accent was Canadian, or north American. Strange.


    Your Linguistic Profile:

    60% General American English

    15% Dixie

    15% Yankee

    5% Upper Midwestern

    0% Midwestern

Leave a Reply

