Childhood memories

My sister and I went through stages. We hated each other; we loved each other. Some days it flip flopped. For a while, we fought like cats and dogs. Then there was the time when we were polar opposites. I was at college, she was anti-establishment, anti-college. I wanted a job and a solid career. She only wanted to be a mom and a wife. We agreed on little besides Harrison Ford and Oreos (they’re a perfect combination with some dunking milk, fyi)

Today my dad sent me some family photos, and it took me back to the old days. The days where Jess & I tried to run away to the orphanage down the street because we thought our parents were so mean. Or the time that I sassed Mom and was grounded for 3 months.

Or the many Saturdays spent at the San Diego Zoo, or the Wild Animal Park, or Balboa Park. I’ll never forget those Saturday mornings. We lived on base in San Diego in a gorgeous home on Sierra Vista Drive (I think). Dad would get Jess & I dressed, and then he’d do our hair. It was always in ponytails or pigtails, but they were the sleekest in town without gel or mousse. Sometimes they hurt as he pulled to get it tight, but we always looked good.

Here are a few pics from that era. So fun. I hope my Ava has a few brothers or sisters to create her own childhood memories with. If all else fails, she has two loving cousins who can’t wait to tear it up with L’il Ava.

Argh– I guess Dan will have to fix the photos tomorrow. I don’t know what’s going on here. . .

UPDATED: Dan fixed the photos. Here they are.

Here is Ava recently.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Children, Family, Family History, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Childhood memories

  1. Bob Cobb says:

    Well…Dad has to put in his two cents here. Jaime uses the past tense “went” through different stages. I believe they are still in process, but I am very happy to see the process of bonding families together which is a philosophy I was taught early in childhood from the “paisons” of the family. If I left nothing else but this philosophy firmly in the minds of my children, I would be happy.

    As for the running away part…I don’t specifically remember them running away while in San Diego up on Linda Vista Drive but I do remember a time…..it was later on in El Cajon California when Jaime was angry with us and she got out her little red wagon and put her little sister in it and said she was running away. We said our goodbyes to them and Jaime headed off down the street towing her little sister behind. Of course I followed them while remaining out of sight. They made it as far as the local Wendy’s, about a 1/4 mile down the road. Jaime looked about, turned around and headed home. It appears as though her and her sister got hungry along the way!

    I vaguely remember doing their hair, but I must have. Being a Staff Sergeant in the Marines I thought they should have a no muss no fuss crewcut, but I was outvoted 3-1. Gel or mousse? I wasnt getting that slimy stuff on my hands!

    Someday ask Jessica about her Dad takin’ her to a “rich kid’s” school in El Cajon in my Yellow Cab. Jess used to make me drop her off a block away from the school!

    Right across the street was Peachtree Day School which somehow both Jaime and Jessica graduated from? Maybe my memory is faulty here?

    Fortunately, we had some relatives in California at the time which we could visit on occassion. Locally about 10 miles away was Jaime and Jessica’s Grand Uncle Donnie and his wife. About 30 miles north in Poway California we had my Uncle Philip and Aunt Ruth with their family. We also were able to see Uncle Joe and Aunt Eaine with their six children: Joseph Jr., Susan, Celeste, Cynthia, Brian, Eric and their families.

  2. jaimeanne says:

    Jess and I laughed about her adventures at Fuerte (the rich kid’s school). As she says, “It was better to be a walker, than be dropped off in cab.” I’m laughing even as I type this, since she was so forceful and determined last night as we discussed it. She always seemed to get into those gifted programs that put her in the schools with all of the rich, snobby children.

    Peachtree Day School wasn’t in El Cajon, CA, it was in East Brunswick, NJ. We each went there while Dad was deployed abroad in Japan and Korea. I remember the morning rides in the Peachtree van with the lady who listened to the same country-sounding duets each morning. I know “Up where we belong” by Jennifer Warnes and Joe Cocker; “Making love out of nothing at all” by Air Supply; and “Total eclipse of the heart” by Bonnie Tyler were three of these songs.

    I remember running away on Linda Vista Drive because it was such a *huge* street. Wasn’t it like 4 lanes in the main street with a frontage road on each side of the street? 6 lanes is really big when you’re just 6.

Leave a Reply

