Testimonies & Journaling

“While walking in a rapid stream we cannot tread twice in the same water. Neither can we spend twice the same time. When we pass out of that door, the work of this meeting will be closed to us forever. We shall never spend the time of this evening again. Then should we not keep a record of our work, teachings, and counsel which we give in this meeting? We should.” –President Wilford Woodruff

We discussed this quote along with a few others in Relief Society today. I had never thought of keeping a journal of my work in the Church. It just never crossed my mind, yet as I think more of it, it seems silly not to. Some of the time I’ve spent visiting inactive sisters in the ward is the most fulfilling time of my week. The sisters are wonderful, and I’ve deepened my testimony of various gospel truths through visiting them. It’s been such a strength to me to have a deep rooted testimony of Jesus Christ, and to be able to share it with others is an amazing experience.

This past fast and testimony meeting was quite moving for me. My sister got up and bore her testimony. She had me in tears. I looked at my sister–the little girl who decided to “do her own thing”–and cried. She’s now returned to the gospel of Jesus Christ, and she sees her children growing up in faith. Her 4 year old daughter is convinced that she will serve a mission, as she wants to be like the stalwart, upstanding young men that bless her home each week.

I think of my experiences. I have been truly blessed. I have the most fabulous husband in the world, and I honestly attribute that to prayer. I prayed for him, and Heavenly Father was able to bless me with him. My daughter as taught me more about the plan of creation and godhood in the past 2 months, than my previous 30 years of scripture study has taught me.

I know that Heavenly Father exists, and He looks over us. Even though we are often tried, He is there to guide us and assist us in those difficult hours. He loves us so much, and wants us to return to Him. Because of his deep love for us, He gave His Son so that we may atone for our sins. The Atonement is real. No matter what sin we have committed, we may repent and return through Christ.

The Book of Mormon is true. It is the record of Christ’s visit to the Americas. It contains the fullness of the gospel, and it is a compliment to the Bible, the record of Christ’s ministeries in the Middle East.

The Gospel of Jesus Christ changes lives. It is the way, the truth and the light. Come unto Christ and you will see an improvement in your life, your attitude and an increase of love.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Family History, Mormon. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Testimonies & Journaling

  1. “My daughter as taught me more about the plan of creation and godhood in the past 2 months, than my previous 30 years of scripture study has taught me.”

    I think this is very profound, Annie. I’ve noticed that also. It’s just fascinating to watch as the creation of a new life unfolds before your eyes.

    One moment I will never forget in the delivery room is when Ava took her first breath. Amazing!

Leave a Reply

