Traditions

Dan & I were talking about traditions today as we drove to the grove for cherries. As we talked, I couldn’t think of any family traditions for the 4th of July. Sure we had a BBQ and watched fireworks, but was there more to it? I can’t seem to remember it. But then again growing up, everyday was patriotic. We awoke to John Philips Sousa marches blaring at full blast. On a military base there is no lack of American flags or patriotic citizens. We grew up with people who genuinely love their country and are willing to fight and die for the freedoms we hold dear. Heck, they started teaching me to shoot a gun at age 3! It’s just the way I was raised.

Yet I couldn’t think of a solid July 4th tradition. As we look forward to the future of raising Ava and any other kids we have, we want traditions. We want there to be something that our family does on holidays that will bond us together and provide humor.

So dear friends, what are your family’s traditions for Independence Day (American, Australian or other)?

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Children, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Traditions

  1. Sherpa says:

    Totally unrelated subject….

    Jaime, I was on your profile page on Link-up yesterday and was cracking up reading the comments sections. Because of your screen name several comments reads: ” I really like Jaime, not Dan.”

    Poor Dan.

    πŸ˜‰

  2. redhatmandan says:

    haha! too funny. we’ll have to change that methinks. πŸ™‚

  3. sare says:

    My family barbecues ribs. My mom has a great rib marinade recipe.
    BUt now that I’m veggie (and dh,) it’s not so fun… we eat barbecued eggplant. Not so good. So we’ll have to come up with another tradition too…

    anyone, anyone??

  4. Sherpa says:

    More great things on Jaime’s profile:

    JAIME, NOT DAN’S GUESTBOOK

    WHAT JAIME, NOT DAN’S FRIENDS SAY

    As far as traditions go, almost every year growing up we took part in my grandmothers town’s Fourth of July activities. Its a small town-3500 people, starts with a sunrise flag ceremony, a play, fireworks,parade activities, a rodeo and fireworks. Long day, but its part of tradition.

  5. redhatmandan says:

    Sherpa,

    Jaime is probably not going to change her name on linkup. Too many people have assumed that I’ve gone and checked linkup using her account, posting on the politics board (as if linkup is all what my life is about). They are trying to minimize and diminish her views. As long as they continue doing that, it is a small price to pay for the funny and unfortunate way my name comes off in her username. besides i’ve never been one to care about how many people like me. πŸ™‚

    for traditions, my family really hasn’t done much, except maybe get together, eat a nice meal and go see some fireworks. but we’ve not done anything consistent.

    for my new family though, we’re going to create good traditions. πŸ™‚

  6. Sherpa says:

    I’m getting a kick out of her name, thats only why I’m pointing it out. The unintended slight is a bit humourous.

    Guys, don’t worry what those peeps on the politics boards say. I’ve read Gregs comments (I’m still a moderator), and you shouldn’t let her bother you. The name change is her decision, but don’t let those buffoons influence her either way.

    I had someone once try to minimize and diminish my view by making fun of my virginity….Jaime, I know its harder said than done, but if they make you mad, then they win. That’s what they are going for.

  7. Sherpa says:

    I called Greg a her….I mean him.

  8. jaimeanne says:

    I hear you Sherpa. I incenses me to no end to be told that because I’m a woman I can’t think, I can’t have an opinion, etc. It’s a good thing I live in America, because after listening to Steven, Greg, and Boris, you’d think we all live in Iran or some other oppressive church-run state.

    I know I shouldn’t let it get to me. I know I should rise above. Yada yada yada. Maybe someday. I’m not ready to yet.

  9. joybuhler says:

    Its incensing. I totally hear you. I feel my blood pressure rising just thinking of some of the things those bozos have pulled, have tried to pull, and things they say they believe in. I’ve distanced myself from the politics boards over on Linkup, for my own sake, and so I’m not as emotionally attached to situations. I also had a year of practice with Chess, so I’ve learned how not to let morons affect me as much.

    Don’t worry about it. We all deal with it in our own way. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

