Money, money, money. . .

Don’t we all need some? I’m happy where I’m at, especially after Dan & I reworked our budget and debt reduction planner tonight. We’ll be out of debt in a few years, just in time to place a house on the land we want to buy. I’ve got to say that I normally hate all things Microsoft (but love Bill & Melinda for their *fabulous* work in the schools), but Money did us well tonight. The budget was easy to create and the debt reduction planner was logical and simple. For those of you paying just the minimum on your credit cards– you’ll never be free until you pay more on the principal. The minimum only covers the interest plus a wee little bit. It’s their way of making more $$ off of you.

On other $$ fronts— what in the heck is up with the modular home world?! Dan and I were hoping to spend around $100K for a 3+ bedroom home. Yet I’ve been told by modular builders that they are custom builders so it will be $200+K for a simple 3 bedroom rancher. Are you kidding me?!?!? A home that has a simple floor plan that you are making 100 times over for every Tom, Dick & Harry is $200+K??? This makes no sense. Then when I told the modular builder that I found a stick builder that could give me a beautiful 4 bedroom, 2 story home for $110K, he was shocked. Then he says, “well, they specialize in affordable housing.” It is no wonder more Americans aren’t homeowners when $110K is “affordable.” This is rural PA where most workers are high school graduates with blue collar jobs. There is no way that home is “affordable.” It’s insane if you ask me.

The land we are looking at is Lot #1 (upper right corner of the map found here). The home we are looking at is found here. Other homes we considered were here, here, and here but they are all well above $200K. Do you believe that?! Please comment and let me hear your thoughts– maybe I’m just crazy.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Family, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

