Hello Blogging World!

I'm Jaime, Dan's wife and mother of darling Ava Simone. I just started blogging regularly at Annie's Journal when Dan created this site. I'm torn as I often don't have much time these days and my hands don't allow for tons of typing either.

To introduce myself, I was born in North Carolina to a US Marine and his artistic wife. We all travelled across America a few times on Uncle Sam's dime, picking up my little sister, Jessica, in Arizona along the way. Most of our time was spent in either New Jersey with my mom's parents or in San Diego, my favorite city in America. When I was in 6th grade, my parents decided to leave San Diego to "prevent me from being a surfer girl," and we moved to frigid cold Northeastern PA. I guess blessings come in disguise. I like to say I was raised with the best of both worlds: the light-hearted, fun nature and beauty of California along with the down-to-earth, responsible aspect of the East.

I went to Brigham Young University for my BA in International Relations, graduating in 1999. I got a job in a day in NYC, so I moved there to design kids clothes. I figured I couldn't get the jobs I wanted at the UN and other NGOs so I would make the world prettier instead.

That grew old after 2 very successful, but highly stressful years, so I interviewed and joined the NYC Teaching Fellows program. Boot camp began 2 weeks later, and I was in a grad program and a South Bronx classroom 2 weeks after that. The whirlwind of teaching brought me such joy, but oh so many frustrations. I dearly miss my students now. I can definitely do without the bureaucratic crap the DOE routinely dished out.

In March 2006, I took a leave of absence as I was 7 months pregnant with Ava and working was getting to be quite difficult. We moved to this small town of PA, and I gave birth a few weeks later.

I'm now trying to be the best mom, homemaker, wife and daughter of God that I can be. I miss teaching, I miss my students, but I am so excited to be able to raise Ava and do some charitable volunteer work in my spare time.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Children, Family, Family History, Life, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

