More on my Life Story…..Some Pictures of Romania

To those new to this blog, at the start of my blog, two years ago, I began writing down my life history. I wrote three posts: About this Nicolae Padigone, a bit about the family, and the move to the United States. All three can be found on this blog with those links. As you see it really has been a while since I last wrote about my life story. I would like to now continue this. I’ve been pressing my mom to get her story down (hers is a far more interesting story than mine), and I figure if I press her, I’ve also got to write mine.

Before I continue though, I’ve uploaded several pictures I’ve scanned from the days in Romania, and I want to share them here.

JusttheThreeofUswithToys-1

This first picture is of my mom, my sister and I. The second is like unto it, but Silvia and I get to hold our favorite toys. 🙂

This last picture I hold in very high value as it has a large number of my family in one place, something very rare.

TheWholeFamily

Present here are my parents in the middle, just married, with their two mothers standing on opposite sides, my dad’s mother on my mom’s shoulder, and my mom’s mother on my dad’s. Notice that my mom’s mother does not touch my dad. She loathed him, to the bitter end. Next to my mom’s mother is her mother, my great-grandmother, who I cannot recall I’ve ever met. My two grandfathers are in the top left corner. My dad’s father is the one wearing the black vest, looking mean with his Hitler-like mustache. Next to him, wearing the small tophat is my mom’s father. I forget who the sax player is. I gotta ask my mom again. But for the rest, they are my uncles, aunts and my parents’s uncles and aunts.

To get an idea of just how large my family is: my mother is the oldest of eight, and the only girl. her mother is the oldest of twelve. I have no clue how many kids my mom’s uncles and aunts have but they have many. There is so much that I need to do to get my family history down! my dad is the second oldest of five. one of his brothers has twelve children. another of his brothers has eight. and another has, at last count, three. and those are just the ones I know of.

So yeah, I’ve got work to do. I should get started soon on it.

I’ve been wanting to write some more about Houston, but I think I should do a little more research before I do. I’ve forgotten so much, that I need a refresher. so more coming soon. However, before that, here is a picture of me with my 3rd grade classmates, in Texas. Points to whoever can recognize me!

3rdGradeClassPhoto

About Daniel

Life is grand. This is the story of a new family, a recently married couple and their honeymoon baby girl. Life throws at you some fastballs, and then some curveballs.
This entry was posted in Family History. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

