Up to my eyes in strawberries and tomatoes!

So I tried to be domesticated. I’ve got the cooking, even gluten-free cooking, down pat. I’ve been my own little sweatshop making adorable little girl’s dresses. So why not foray into canning?

After looking at 3 flats of strawberries and 3 half-bushel boxes of tomatoes— it will be much too soon if I see another one. But oh will we have some delicious jam, salsa and tomato sauce!

Way back in 1980, President Ezra Taft Benson said,

You do not need to go into debt, may I add, to obtain a year’s supply. Plan to build up your supply just as you would a savings account. Save a little for food storage each pay-check. Can or bottle fruit and vegetables from your gardens and orchards. Learn how to preserve food through drying and possibly freezing. Make your storage a part of your budget. Store seeds and have sufficient tools on hand to do the job.

This weekend, my sister & I (along with our husbands) canned 15 quarts of salsa and 10 of tomato sauce. We each processed 24 quarts of strawberries for jam–hopefully hers aren’t too fermented to yield a good jam. I feel very accomplished.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Church, Family, Life, Mormon. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Up to my eyes in strawberries and tomatoes!

  1. it actually went a lot faster than i thought it would, and was more enjoyable than i thought it would be. :-p

Leave a Reply

