Deep thoughts from the shallow end of the pool–er something like it. . .

Life has taken so many turns since I last blogged. Nick and I are married. I'm as big as the house pregnant with our first daughter. I quit my job teaching in the Bronx so that I can take care of myself and our baby. It saddened me to leave, especially since I taught the same darlings for 3 years running, and they only have a few months until they graduate and go to high schools all over NYC. I was working with Carnegie Hall on a pilot program to create documentaries of blues musicians that moved North— who has 8th grade kids creating documentaries for Carnegie Hall?? Only crazy little me. I hope my successor can pull it off, or I can help enough to get it done.

As we moved out to PA, the people became more and more friendly (almost annoyingly so–as you *always* have to say Hi and have idle chit-chat), and the streets are quieter. I know it's better for us. I don't miss the NYS taxes, nor do I miss the chaos of the city– but I do miss the wonderful people who are there.

As we househunt for the home we want to purchase, everyone has an opinion– don't buy here, buy there. But when you feel drawn to a place, can you really buck that feeling? And when fireplaces and in-ground pools are involved– hello?! Is there any other option! Pennsylvania summers are hot and sticky, and what better way to spend a summer than lounging with my baby in a pool ๐Ÿ™‚ We'll see what happens. . .

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Family, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deep thoughts from the shallow end of the pool–er something like it. . .

  1. I don’t think you’ve talked about the in-ground pools enough, Annie. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. annie says:

    Just want to make sure my thoughts are umm. . .heard, loud and clearly :)–>

Leave a Reply

