Is it a white man’s world?

I don't know. Apparently I'm not good enough because I'm white, yet I'm too ghetto for other careers. It kills me. My students remind me that I'm good for them, a positive influence. Yet as I look around at the chaos that I call my classroom there are days that I wonder about that. Do I really teach? Sometimes. Do they really learn? I'd hope more than I really teach.

My honors kids reminded me of the high standards that I once strove for and have slacked off. Chelsey chided the class for not knowing fairly simple vocabulary, which spurred a huge flurry. She held her own against the rest of the class, and even emailed an apology to me later on. I don't fault her. She deserves better. Question is: can I focus on raising ALL kids, not just the lower levels?

As I watched Felix get cuffed, I couldn't believe the thought process. The NYPD wanted his ball because he shouldn't have it in school, and Felix fought them like crazy on it. Cost effective, I think not, as he now has a record over it. How do we teach common sense? As Gatsha used to say, "common sense isn't always so common."

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is it a white man’s world?

  1. Boomhower says:

    This is Gatsha. Who are you? I have to know you, I honestly think there are only two Gatsha on Earth and unless you’ve been in involved in African Politics I think you’re referring to me and considering my sister is the one that always told me ‘Gatsha, you know common sense just ain’t so common’, I’m pretty sure you’re talking about me. Is this Hi-Me from camp? I’m going to take a leap of faith here and assume that it is, and leave you a phone number (Edited for content). I just moved to Boston 5 days ago and before I left this Mormon cat that i worked with was supposed to help me hunt you down in NY. Today I was actually bored so I googled my name and up came this post. I’m married and my wife lives in Tennessee so I understand the long distance relationship thing. Because I’m currently living in corporate housing I don’t currently have access to my hotmail account and I only just signed up with blogspot today (just so I could respond to this post). If it is you it would be great to hear from you! and if its not, my apologies but my name is Gatsha so I hope you could see how this could throw me off a little.

  2. annie says:

    Gatsha– It’s now April 14, 2006, and I *just* barely saw your comment! It is Hi-Me from camp. Email me. I tried calling you years back when I was visiting Dawnita in LA, but it was right before your wedding so it never worked out. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

