Bleh

Standard

This week has been the highest highs and some of the lowest lows. I visited Podunk, PA with Nick this week. We saw my sister, Joe and their adorable Bella. I can't tell you how much I love that little girl. She is so sweet, polite and my favorite niece (that's hard because I only have one right now :) She lights up my life.

At her birthday party, she, Kaylee and Tristan (all 3 year olds) ran around the farmhouse like they were racing the Indy 500. Each one of these 3 year old terrors had a baby carriage or a Tonka trunk, racing around the track of the living & dining room and kitchen. After we ate the lunch, Jessica put party hats down for the little ones. They sat down, quietly put on the party hats and looked up to say, "cake please." It was so precious.

Fast forward a few days and I'm driving up to a charter school in Boston for an interview. I was running late, after 2 1/2 hours of driving, we finally got there at 9am (1 hour later than planned). I watched a few ideal high school classes, lunched on some yummy Thai food, and prepared my lesson. I had to teach two different grades, in two different rooms, back to back. I didn't even get the 45 mins to the lesson I was promised. And the microscopes were all turned on. All 50 of them. I've never felt so examined in my life. The male adults had positive comments. The females couldn't come up with a compliment if their lives depended on it. The kids overwhelmingly loved me. After 15 debriefing sessions, I finally walked out the doors at 6:30pm. Nine (yes 9!!!!!) hours for a job interview is too freaking long. Never again. I seriously hurt. I've never had a migraine but I think I had one then. I couldn't even keep my eyes open while Nick drove, as the sun killed my brain. I've seen the depths of hell and have no desire to return. . .

Yet I have my little putt putt car, I can return home soon, and reenter my rat race in the Bronx, with the hopes of educating a few more children. I just pray that I can finish the year. Never before have I been so tired. Yet I'm so happy. I love Nick. I can't wait to marry him. As he, Jess, Bella and I shopped for the gown, I loved what I found and I know it will be a gorgeous day.

About jaimeanne

I'm me. Graphic designer extraordinaire, urban master teacher of social studies, former adjunct professor, high school principal, and now most importantly-- Mom to the cutest little girl ever. I try to live by the quote, "Work like you don't need money, Love like you've never been hurt, And dance like no one's watching." I believe in Christ, and sometimes I'm just trying to figure out what He wants me to do. This blog chronicles that journey.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

